Tear and Raindrops, Chapter 3

Chapter 3: Draco

I couldn’t believe what I had just seen.

“Granger? Are you okay?” I asked tentatively. Granger looked up at me and glared, her massive head of hair wet with tears around the edges.

“Would you be okay?” She snapped through her tears. I slowly shook my head. I was at a loss for words, and for what to do. Granger was in a heap on my dormitory floor, crying, and I couldn’t do anything more than stand there. Finally, after a minute of careful thought and extreme awkwardness, I sank to the ground beside her and put an arm around her, letting her lean into me. After first it felt strange and unfamiliar, but after a minute it felt warm and safe, an old friend.

“I’m sorry,” I mumbled in her ear. I had to push back her voluminous mass of hair just to be able to speak with in her ear, which for some reason made me want to laugh. Granger wiped her eyes and tried to smile at me. It looked more like a grimace than a sign of genuine happiness, which was understandable in her situation. After a minute of us both taking unusual comfort in the other’s presence, Granger stood and wrapped her arms around herself, gazing down at her shoes.

“Malfoy, I can’t do this right now.” She told me, eyes lowered as she brushed a lock of hair behind one ear. I was insanely confused, rising to my feet to stand beside her.

“Huh?” I grunted, like the eloquent gentlemen I am.

“Just…” Granger sighed and fiddled with her necklace. I hadn’t noticed it before. It was a peach rose on a fine golden chain, and she continually twiddled the rose.

“Gift from Weasel?” I grumped, suddenly angry and sullen. Granger didn’t answer, but her hands dropped guiltily to her sides. I snorted, but didn’t say anything. We stood there awkwardly for a minute, the tension in the air thick enough to cut with a knife.

“I should go,” Granger sighed sadly. I couldn’t do anything but watch as she performed a Disillusionment Charm in herself, and she was gone. A strange sense of loss filled me, but I shook it off and flopped down on my bed, my mind still full of Granger and her necklace.


Sew, that was Chapter 3. Make sure to like and comment below!

Love from,

image1-1

 

6 thoughts on “Tear and Raindrops, Chapter 3”

Leave a Reply

