Tears and Raindrops, Chapter 2

 

Chapter 2: Hermione

“Stop whistling! You’ll give us away!” I hissed in Malfoy’s ear as we picked our way through the Slytherin common room.

“I’m sorry, did you say something?” He asked a stout first year girl, perched on the edge of a high backed green chair. She gave him a strange look and scooted away. Malfoy sighed, and I knew that even among his fellow Slytherins, he was feared and avoided at all costs. This made me sad for some reason. I shook it off and headed into his dormitory, after quietly telling him to hurry the hell up.

“So…” I mumbled awkwardly, once we were both in his room, I was visible again, and the Pensieve was floating in front of us.

“Let’s get this over with,” Malfoy sighed, giving me an almost sympathetic look and holding out his hand. I gave it a strange look, and he blushed and dropped it. After a second of guilty silence, I took his hand, and we plunged into the Pensieve together.

“Please, Ron. I don’t want to go back there alone!” I watched myself plead with my ex-boyfriend in the memory, my hands clasped around his as we stood, alone, in the Burrow’s garden.

“Hermione, I told you,” Ron sighed exasperatedly, running his fingers through his fiery red locks. “I don’t need exams to tell the Ministry how qualified I am to be an Auror. The fact that I destroyed a Horcrux is more than enough for them.” I could feel Malfoy giving me a questioning look and ignored him, focusing instead on the memory.

“I know you don’t need the extra year. But I need you to be there for me! I can’t face the memories alone.” I watched myself, almost crying as I begged, and realized it was true. I couldn’t even face this memory alone. I was so desperate, I was diving into the Pensieve with Malfoy, of all people. Thinking that made me feel guilty, which made me feel guilty for feeling guilty. I shut off my emotions and returned to the memory.

“There’s more to life than knowledge, Hermione! You need to live a little.” Ron responded nonchalantly, cupping my face in his freckled hand.

“Running from Voldemort wasn’t enough living for you?” I asked, and Ron flinched at the sound of the name.

“Don’t say that name,” Ron snarled, pulling his hand away as though he’d been burned and clenching his jaw ferociously.

“We need knowledge, Ron. Because of knowledge, I know that I love you,” I had told him tremulously, taking his hand. Ron pulled away and refused to meet my eyes.

“You used to,” he sighed, turning away from me. I watched as I reeled back in shock.

“What?” I had whimpered, shocked.

“I’m sorry, Hermione,” Ron mumbled. “But you don’t have time for me anymore. And honestly, I’m tired of being with someone who thinks she’s better than me.”

“No, Ron, please… I’m sorry.” I never knew what I was apologizing for.

“Goodbye, Hermione. I hope you find someone who deserves you.” He had kissed me on them forehead and walked away.

“You too,” I had whispered, crying freely now. The memory turned to black and I was yanked out of the memory, Malfoy still holding my hand tight in his as I began to cry.


Sew, that was Chapter 2! Thoughts? Make sure to like and comment below!

Love from,

image1-1

 

2 thoughts on “Tears and Raindrops, Chapter 2”

Leave a Reply

